-
Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
I am hoping that I am not repeating a previous post, but even if I am, I hope this will serve as a reminder. On the SCORE site, I advertised my class 10 car for sale, also, a type 1 motor, and a Mendeola 4 speed. An e-mail was sent to me recently regarding my car. It read :
"Greetings,
I saw your advert and i'm interested in buying your Class 10
Lothringer. I'm offering $38000. Get back to me your banking details(sort
code and a/c no)as well as bank address so that I can instruct my client
to send the funds via wire transfer to your account. Hope to read from
you soon.
Corry."
<font color="blue"> </font>
A couple of days later, I received another regarding my motor. It read
"We are interested in buying your above mentioned product at advertised rate. Goods to be picked up from your location for onward shipping to London. Cost and modalities of shipping to be born by us.
Payment for the purchase is by check through a debtor in US. The debtor owes us higher than our purchase. He will therefore be sending you a check for $9,000 to cover the cost of our order, as well as the Shipping costs.
On receipt of the check, you will cash and deduct the cost of our order .The balance you will send as we would instruct you to the Agency that will ship the Goods to us. If this arrangement suites you fine, please send us your address where to send the check, as well as the name to be on it. Also send us your phone number for easy communication." <font color="blue"> </font>
I read an article which talked about this common fraud tatic which has been widely used recently.
Just thought you might want to know that these people are targeting the SCORE site. <font color="blue"> </font>
-
June 3rd, 2004 22:25
# ADS
Circuit advertisement
|
|
Membership in the largest desert racing community has its advantages
- Participate in Forum Discussions
- Send and Receive Private Messages
- Maintain Public Photo Albums
- Access to Groups
- User Profile in our Social Network
- Increased Access to more Sub Forums
- Reduced Online Advertisements
Join our community today |
-
Senior
-
Re: Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
Terri,
Also had this same scam tried on me from DuneBuggy.com for an engine I was selling.
Enjoyed playing with the guy to see how he was going to try and work the scam. Painted him into a corner with doing it his way but through a legit bank and never heard from him again.
I really feel badly for those that get hit with this type of crook.
Ben
Here isa copy of this guys attempt:
[ QUOTE ]
Hello,
Thanks for getting back.I am okay with $1800 if you are ready to neglect every other buyers for it because I am very serious and much in need of it.I want you to assure me of this.I am happy you are willing to sell to me.As regards the shipping I have an international shipping agent that would be on ground to do the pick up as soon as we seal this transaction.As regards the payment,I have a client of mine in the U.S.A that is supposed to wirte me a check back for a cancelled order I made with him,I would instruct him to make out a check to you for $5900,although the money is more than the value of the purchase but I want to trust you with the money,so as soon as you receive the check,kindly take the check to any check cashing store and cash it immediately and do me the favour of sending balance via Western Union Money Transfer to my shipper for immediate shipping arrangment.If my terms is acceptable to you,do furnish me with the full name of which the cheque will be sent to and the residential contact address and your phone number and get back to me immediately so that I can instruct my client to send the check to you as soon as possible.
Thanking you in anticipation and pls send pics.
Best Regards,
Joe.
[/ QUOTE ]
-
Fresh Blood
Re: Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
it doesnt matter what site or publication it is, these people are hitting any advertisments. if its on the web, its a target.
-
Fresh Blood
Re: Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
I would play the game, tell him to go ahead and send the payment and then just stall indefinitely while you call the authorities to catch them.
-
Senior
Re: Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
There's a site that's dedicated to messing with these thieves. Go to www.ebolamonkeyman.com . This guy's
mission is to string these people along as long he possibly canand frustrate the hell out of them.
-
Senior
Re: Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
That is some great stuff on there. I have only started reading some of it. Next time i get a bogus offer I am going to mess with him big time!
-
RDC Addicted
Re: Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
I did this with someone on ebay that was trying to "f" me on a quad..............that was way to cheap!!
It was funny.........I kept telling him that I was going to send the money...........again and again and again............He finally gave up and I sent him a e-mail telling him where to put the quad!!!
Shrek
-
Chairman
Re: Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
-
June 12th, 2004, 08:51
#10
Re: Fraud targets SCORE\'s site
Here's another, I just received this one today. And this guy's from Ireland? I don't think so...just listen to his accent. They all seem to speak the same language. One of these guys actually wrote back after I sent him an e-mail telling him that he had to be kidding, and he said that business was all about trust!!!! Well, I responded to that one too...needless to say, I haven't heard from him since! Anyway, here it is, I won't post anymore...and I KNOW more are coming... Terrie
Goodday,
Am godwill henry,i am interested in buying your 1914cc Freshly
Rebuilt .do let me know if this is still for sale and avalible.Am a citizen
of ireland .Also do let me know if you accept Cashier check for the
payment.and if you do, don't worry about the shipping i will have a
shipping company which will take care of the shipping look forward to
hear from you as soon as possible if still forsale.I moved by your
price which you placed for sale.i hope to hear from you as soon as
possible.
Regard
</font>