33" or 35" tires???

Discussion in 'Shop - Suspension & Steering' started by sickdayz, Dec 15, 2010.

1. sickdayz

sickdayz Member

I wasn’t sure where to post this, so I thought “suspension” would be a good place.

I have a small class 1 car that a race in the VORRA series. I have plenty of motor (about 500hp) and the 2D with 930 CVs and axles. I have been racing this setup for over 2 years and have only broken the axles a few times. That’s right; the 2D has been very good to me. I was using the Gear One 300m axles that do not have a shoulder, meaning the top of the splines are the same diameter as the axle center section. Those are the axles I have broken. I am now running 300m axles from KarTek; the ones with the center axle section that is the same diameter as the bottom of the spline. I have been told that these will be stronger.

Anyway; I have been thinking about running 33’ tires instead of the 35’ that I run now, so that I would have less rotating mass. My question is, what is the advantage of running a 35’ over a 33’? Is it just the ground clearance? Is it that the larger diameter tire rolls easier over bumps? Traction?, any input would be great…

I really think the 33” would be better for my car, but I don’t want to give up anything else that might be more important. Here is a pic of my car:
    [​IMG]
  2. bigtex

bigtex Active Member

I run 33's on my 1400 truck currently and on another 1400 truck I used to race we ran 35's and man I wish we had 35's on the current truck,yeah its nice in my axles and bearings but you do feel more holes,bumps,rocks...and when you come out of like a check pionts and the track has gotten like a washboard MAN you feel that too more,I would say stay with the 35's.hope this helps.
  3. sickdayz

sickdayz Member

Thats the kind of info i'm looking for. Real world exp... Thanks...
  4. sickdayz

sickdayz Member

50 people viewed this topic and only one has enogh experience in this to post...? wow...
  5. 43mod