Transmission for 10hp Briggs & Stratton??

Discussion in 'Shop - Miscellaneous' started by V8Ranger, Feb 3, 2003.

1. V8Ranger

V8Ranger Member

I've been looking around for a relativley simple/inexpensive two or three speed transmission that will withstand the abuse of a 10 hp Briggs and Stratton. Most people run CVT's but I wanted to try something different. I was just curious if anyone might have come across something that might work.

Thanks
  2. KitRacer

KitRacer Active Member

cushman makes a small vehicle used for meter maids and small farm jobs, i used to be a mechanic on them, alot of them had three speed manual transmission, it has a bell housing though, i dont know how you could adapt that to work with the clutch and everything else
  3. V8Ranger

V8Ranger Member

I'll look into that, thanks. Any idea how much they weigh?

Thanks again
  4. Kbach66

Kbach66 Member

Sounds like a SAE mini baja aplication for school....don't know for sure but I would stay with the CVT because of it's simplicity and light weight compared to the transmission route.
  5. KitRacer

KitRacer Active Member

the place i used to work at had a couple of these trannies laying around when i quit. they have a huge golf cart junk yard there too. the place is called Cart Mart Inc. and they are located in San Marcos on Bent Avenue off of San Marcos Blvd. Ask for Bruce, hes the only one there worth your time
  6. zooper

zooper New Member

On our mini baja we actually took the tranny out, we decieded that it was to heavy, to complicated, and frankly didnt make much of a difference (except having reverse). Dont mean to tell you, you shouldnt do it, just saying that it does work to not even have a tranny. You guys going to the midwest comp this year?
    Brady

one mynd
  7. Kritter

Kritter Krittro Campbell