Veteran Racers Get Revenge in Round 3

Round three of the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series continued it’s dramatic saga of the crafty veterans against the young guns. Unlike rounds one and two, round three proved that it was the seasoned veterans of the class who have the upper hand.

Opening ceremonies kicked off with the Pro 4 Unlimited’s and the intensity never let up. LOORRS officials made a last minute decision to cancel today’s qualifying session due to track maintenance and driver safety so the track was a guessing game for most of the drivers. You would have never known that LOORRS officials made any changes to the track considering Kyle Leduc’s dominating performance taking the win while leading the entire race wire to wire. Kyle Leduc looked to be riding on rails while Pro 4 Unlimited newcomer Corry Weller saw her fair share of bumps and bruises but still managed to pull off a solid forth place finish. Greg Adler and Josh Merrell rounded out the top three podium positions.

Pro Lite Unlimited’s took the stage filling the track with 24 drivers ready make a point. With some of the best racing we’ve seen thus far this season, the Pro Lites had the crowd on their feet the entire time and left the crowd wanting more. The 2011 Pro Lite champion Brian Deegan battled his way through the pack to grab the top spot, overtaking Rj Anderson for the first place position with just one lap to go. While Deegan’s fist place finish COULD be under review for a post race tech issue, LOORRS officials were unable to respond regarding Deegan’s possible DQ. Pro Lite newcomer Justin “Bean” Smith saw his first DNF of the season after getting tangled up with another Pro Lite newcomer. “Bean” suffered a broken upper link in the rear of the truck after flipping the truck and decided to pull it into the hot pits not wanting to risk destroying the truck for the entire weekend. After the race Bean said, “Tomorrow is about being aggressive. Our truck was running flawless and I can’t let these guys push me around”. Brian Deegan, Rj Anderson and Chris Brandt all took the top spots in the Pro Lite division.

Just as the heat started to take a toll on the crowd, the Pro 2 Unlimited’s took the track and from there on it was standing room only. Carl Renezeder took the green flag in the forth position and was on the hunt for his 97th shortcourse win only to come up short to none other than the Pro 2 champ and race winner; Brian Deegan. Both Brian Deegan and Marty Hart finished in front of Renezeder rounding off the top 3 positions. “You can’t give these guys anything or they will take full advantage of it! I backed it down to about 80% (because I didn’t want to destroy my equipment) and I should have never done that. I was trying to save my truck for the second half of the race and the mandatory pit stop ruined my whole momentum, but I could feel Deegan coming”. Marty Hart explained after being asked if he knew Deegan was coming.

While most of the newcomers to the class(s) all had their fair share of hiccups, few were able to overtake the veterans and solidify themselves in the overall point standings.

Words by Adam “Gunnslinger” Gunn

Photos by HighRev Photography


Leave a Reply

Event Schedules
May 27-28 TORC- Dallas/Ft Worth
May 28 AVE Racing SuperCourse GP Series - Punta Banda
Jun 01-05 SCORE Baja 500
Jun 02-07 Sardegna Rally Race - FIM Cross Country Rally WC
Jun 03-05 WORCS - Rnd 7 TBA
Jun 10-11 SNORE - Race Fuels Caliente 250
Jun 10-11 TORC - Chicago
Jun 18-19 LOORRS - Ensenada
Jun 23-26 Italian Baja - FIA WC Cross Country Rallies
Jun 24-26 TORRA - Mescalero 175
Jun 25-26 TORC - Crandon Internatioal Off-Road Raceway
Jul 02 Bonneville Off Road - Jackpot 150
Jul 02-03 LOORRS Regional AZ - RD 7 Show Low Thunder Raceway
Jul 08-10 TDRA - Texana 180
Jul 09 LOORRS Regional So Cal Round 5 Glen Helen Night Race
TV Schedules
Check Back For Updates!
%d bloggers like this: