• Forum membership has its advantages....

110 Watt VHF Radio Speaker Considerations

Mike321

I currently have a 110 Watt Kenwood in the chase truck with a Kenwood speaker and I’m going to add a second 110 Watt Kenwood to the truck (the second radio isn’t coming with a speaker).

Is there anything I need to know about speakers and VHF? Is there anything special inside the Kenwood speaker that works better with VHF that wouldn’t be found in a normal stereo speaker?

Thanks,
Mike

Ol' Curmudgeon

RDC's resident crackpot
I'm no radio expert, but I don't think so, as I have been using a pair of no-name freebie computer/stereo speakers for several years on both a UHF and VHF radio.

I don't think the frequency at which a radio transmits/receive has any impact on speaker output.

Probably be best to match speaker impedance, but I didn't.

Good luck!

Mike321

I'm no radio expert, but I don't think so, as I have been using a pair of no-name freebie computer/stereo speakers for several years on both a UHF and VHF radio.

I don't think the frequency at which a radio transmits/receive has any impact on speaker output.

Good luck!
Thanks for the reply. I was actually hoping to be able to use much smaller computer speakers for both radios.

redrider58

Good luck!
+1. RX/TX in any frequency does not matter in terms of what speaker to use. Use whatever speaker to you want.

wheezy

"PRO PHOTO"
You can fry a Kenwood hooking up speakers incorrectly. Download the service manual.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike321

The link above is really just two small pages. Based on the 790 documentation it reads like there's a max 3 or 13 Watt speaker output depending on setup.

Should be good for most speakers, no?