110 Watt VHF Radio Speaker Considerations

Mike321

Reaction
I currently have a 110 Watt Kenwood in the chase truck with a Kenwood speaker and I’m going to add a second 110 Watt Kenwood to the truck (the second radio isn’t coming with a speaker).

Is there anything I need to know about speakers and VHF? Is there anything special inside the Kenwood speaker that works better with VHF that wouldn’t be found in a normal stereo speaker?

Thanks,
Mike

Reaction
I'm no radio expert, but I don't think so, as I have been using a pair of no-name freebie computer/stereo speakers for several years on both a UHF and VHF radio.

I don't think the frequency at which a radio transmits/receive has any impact on speaker output.

Probably be best to match speaker impedance, but I didn't.

Good luck!

Mike321

Reaction
I'm no radio expert, but I don't think so, as I have been using a pair of no-name freebie computer/stereo speakers for several years on both a UHF and VHF radio.

I don't think the frequency at which a radio transmits/receive has any impact on speaker output.

Good luck!

Thanks for the reply. I was actually hoping to be able to use much smaller computer speakers for both radios.

redrider58

Reaction

Good luck!

+1. RX/TX in any frequency does not matter in terms of what speaker to use. Use whatever speaker to you want.

wheezy

"PRO PHOTO"
Reaction
You can fry a Kenwood hooking up speakers incorrectly. Download the service manual.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mike321

Reaction
The link above is really just two small pages. Based on the 790 documentation it reads like there's a max 3 or 13 Watt speaker output depending on setup.

Should be good for most speakers, no?

I'm not concerned about how to hook up the speaker (I have the documentation for wiring a speaker), I was just wondering if there's any magic in the Kenwood speaker hardware vs an ordinary speaker in terms of VHF communication fidelity. (This isn't mentioned in the documentation I have)