15 Second Intervals

JMS

Reaction
I know the reasoning behind it but eventually the slower class's will be getting passed by the fast guys anyway. What happened to me and several other unfortunate racers at the MINT may have been avoided (maybe not) by increasing the interval to at least 30 seconds, at least the faster classes should be 30 seconds and then decrease the interval down to 15 for some of the slower classes. I raced the Midnight Special last year and the start was the exact same way for the first 15 miles you couldn't see your hand in front of your face, I know its off road racing and this wasnt my first race so I know how to race in the dust. I am just pretty new to the idea of 15 second intervals and think it promotes a very unsafe environment. I am in no way pointing any fingers at anyone for what happened to me, I am just curious what you guys think about the 15 second interval?

nimrod

KOOK!
Reaction
Bean paid a pretty high price in Pinkie too..........

The race was awesome and everyone at Snore did an amazing job but I really hope they figure out a way to have at least a 30 second interval next year.......

WickedGravityVideo

Reaction
Holy Crap! I guess that RM2 to RM4 was pretty crazy on the first lap. Sorry that so many got stuck, rear-ended, whatever there. Another related problem was that out on the interstate, parallel to the first 8 miles of course, there was blinding dust on the interstate -- I was driving up from the start to the Ute Exit, RM9, and the semi truckers were going 25mph with their emergency flashers on. I was afraid the state patrol was going to stop the race right there and right then. Once the start was over, the dust situation mellowed out on the highway. Hope someone from SNORE reads this for information. I don't know if a 30 second interval would have helped, maybe not, but just FYI, if SNORE did not know, there was a problem on the interstate for a while.