• Forum membership has its advantages....

1976 Funco "ST"

luvbaja2

I have a 1976 Funco that started life as a two seat car. It was stretched and turned into a tandem. I have been working on it for the last few months and plan to race it at the 2017 NORRA race. My goal is to try to do a build thread as it progresses. I'm new to the posting thing so be gentle. I have raced NORRA in a 1969 Meyers Tow'd, 1968 F-100 Class 8 truck, and last year in a RZR. Looking forward to next year.

Attachments

Last edited:

Quailhunter

Covert Troll.
Very cool !

luvbaja2

So I signed up the first day for NORRA 2017 in the 1976 stretched Funco Bandido I am restoring. I always thought I wanted a tandem car until I sat in the backseat with my feet wrapped around the driver, looking at nothing but the back of his helmet.. I couldn't ask anyone to do that! So there was enough room to move the drivers seat left and the passenger seat right. And I ended up with a "staggered tandem". Not sure if there was ever anything like it? I've been buying cars, tires and wheels, parts and pieces, the last few months to make this thing work.
The car is entered in the Legend buggy class #4, as it was raced with that number along with #16, which was already taken. I have pictures and video of the car racing in the late 70's. The original owner/driver was Roy Kozlowski, who did all his own work in his garage, and modified the original Funco frame using a gas welder and all his wife's wire hangers! I am in contact with his son who has provided me with some pictures and backstory.
I will upload photos to follow the progress. Frame was sandblasted, rust cut out, areas reinforced due unknown interior rust. Alum side panels were pop riveted into the frame and holes drilled though the frame for attachment points. I have added stiffeners and gussets where I thought they were necessary. Any constructive criticism is welcomed. Bruce
image (2).jpg
IMG_1480.JPG
IMG_1478.JPG
IMG_1478.JPG

Attachments