• Forum membership has its advantages....

69 Camaro build

69camaro

Hey guys. I happened to come across a 69 Camaro on a 67 bronco chassis. I've been looking for something to run the Norra 500 in for awhile now and for 5k couldn't resist picking this up. I'm new to desert racing but not to building cars. If I wanted to run in Norra what is the fasted way to get the car legal in a mod class? I'm going to put a new motor and trans and go through the drive line to get the car running in tip top shape. If I fall in love with the desert I want to slowly mod the car better and better every year. I think what I'm looking for are some suggestions on lifts/long travel kits, do I need them to run, roll bars and that sort of thing. Thanks for any advise and maybe I'll see you guys there in a few years?

Attachments

Bro_Gill

Best way to go would be to sell that body to someone who can use it, take the money, and get a fiberglass early Bronco body and build that up. Otherwise, I think in the short and long run you will end up being disappointed. Not trying to nag on you, but from the distance involved, your background with no desert racing experience, and reality, there is a collision about to happen. It takes much more than a body swap and a good running stockish drive train to make NORRA a reality. Long travel suspension, Lot's of $hock$ with that weight, and a legal roll cage are all required. I would look for an old race buggy in Florida to start with, I know there are some out there.

germancarsonly