A concern from a Ocotillo Wells bike rider!!!

sirhk100

Reaction
This is long and probably rambles on but please read it...

Just got back from another AWESOME weekend at Ocotillo Wells. Flawless trip once the wind died down Friday night. I do want to voice a concern that I have about the Prerunner crowd in Ocotillo Wells. I'm going to post this on the one other truck board I'm active on so if you see it copied and pasted don't bother reading it twice cause it's identicle! I'm not pointing fingers with this at anyone either so please don't get riled up and defensive, just read it and maybe have it in the back of your mind. It's just a view from a very active dedicated MX rider. I've been riding dirt bikes out there for 18 years (since I was 7 y/o) now and only in the past 3-4 years have the trucks presence really started. There is trail eticate (sp?) that is commonly practiced at Ocotillo Wells (don't know about Glamis, Barstow, or anywhere else) but the Prerunner crowd doesn't seem to know it or care about it!!!! I see MAYBE, and that's a big MAYBE 1 in every 15-20 trucks out there that do it. I just don't think the prerunner crowd knows about it. I've grown up riding bikes out there and over the last 2 years or so been on TONS of trips where I'm the only person on a bike in a group of 15-20 trucks. I hear them complaining about how the bikes don't move over and get outta their way. The roads in Ocotillo are wide enough for us all. If I'm fresh and a truck is coming at me, I've got no problem hopping over into the whoops section and letting you run the road. That's not always the case though. If I'm limping back to camp after a HARD CRASH (this weekend for example) or cruising back after a 50 mile ride or at the end of a 200 mile weekend, the last thing I want to do is beat myself up some more in the whoops. I don't want to sound whimp but the trail is as much mine as it is the trucks. Buggy's and the Jeepers move over and slow down, bikes and quads do also. But i