Advice for thanking friends

MikeAdams

RDC Crypto
Most of you don't know me- I'm a student at CSUSM finishing up a Computer Science degree. I do fab on the side and my wife pays most the bills. We're broke but we do have the most fun helping other teams and tooling around in our sand buggy. I also own a dinosaur of a KTM and put a ton of hours on it. I've been a reader of RDC since the "black and red days"

Here's the story. For the last few months a bike riding buddy of mine has been collecting cash from 31 of my closest friends. He bought a '03 WR450 with the collective effort and left it "under" my parents Christmas tree. Christmas morning I walked into video cameras and flashing cameras to see an immaculatey detailed bike. This left me speechless. People just don't do this- and I'm kinda at a loss as to what to say/do about it. "Thanks" doesn't really cover it.

I don't really want to do thank you cards- that just seems kinda homo. I was thinking maybe a big barbecue? Any ideas?

bajafox

Accepted
RDC Crypto
Personally in a case like that, the person doing the giving probably doesn't expect you to match it. A gift like that doesn't come with a "you better thank me in the best way possible" disclaimer. IMHO a simple thanks and just being a good friend is probably all they really want.

Congrats on the new bike!

ShaneR

RDC Crypto
Website
www.teamrobinson.com
Your friends sound like a great bunch of people, I agree with Bajafox that doing something like this everyone that was involved did it because that wanted to and your happiness is what they wanted to see.
Thank you cards does seem girly so if you really feel that you should do something then a BBQ or dinner or night out does sound like a great thank you.

OldStroppeTeam

RDC Crypto
Tel him thank you now, then be patient.
The time will come when you can do something nice for him, and the rest of the folks who helped out. If you have ever watched the movie "Pay it Forward" you will know what I mean.

sirhk100