Another fiberglass fender question ***newbie***

throwinrox

Reaction
I am new to this stuff especially fiberglass.

I have a 99 Silverado 4WD. I just got some 3.5" Glassworks "replicas". I want to keep the inner fenders and just remove the skins.

I did a search and went through all 11 pages but could not find a good "how to" tutorial with pictures.

Does anybody out there have pics or their install for 99-02 Silverados?

Also these look like they are gonna be pretty wide for me. I have 16x8" with 285/75/16 BFG ATs, wheels that are about 1" reverse over stock.

throwinrox

Reaction
Here are some pics. How much wider is this than stock? I was told they were +3.5 but they look way wider

Here is my front stock

Here is a number that I found. does anybody know the make?

Here are a couple other pics

Cerberus2k7

Reaction
So do you want to use the existing fender as a plug? You can check this site out.

http://www.gadrivers.net/~dwicker/fiberglass.html

It's for a sub box, but the overall concept is the same.

EDIT: Read the question wrong; I thought you were wanting to remake them, just without the inside. That link you posted is pretty spot on. Granted with "replica" anything, it usually means you're going to have to do more trimming as opposed to if you purchased it from the actual distributor. But fiberglass is easy to fix overall. Just take your time and measure thrice.

Double_Down

Reaction
I looked through the tutorial, and it's probably as good as you are going to find. As already stated here, take your time. Getting fiberglass to look good requires a lot of fitting and removing of the panels, and massaging of the pieces. Sometimes including adding and removing material. It's really not that hard to do... just takes time. When you are done you'll be stoked that you did it yourself.

Are these going on the red Chevy or the white one? ;-)

throwinrox

Reaction