• Forum membership has its advantages....

AV Gas Pro or Con?

Junior

What are the effects of running AV Gas in a race motor? I have a JEEP which I use mainly at the dunes and the beach. It has a Chevy ZZ4 crate motor in it. The motor has 10.5 to 1 compression and is rollerized. I believe it is a non fuel injected version of the motor in the 2000 LT-1 Corvette. I ordered it from the Chevy Performance Parts Catalog. Some people tell me that Av Gas will make the motor run hot some say it will run cooler. Some say be sure and mix it with pump gas. Some say to expect valve damage etc. What is the scoop on running AV Gas. What are the Pros and Cons?

Junior
EJR Racing #244

Jimmy8

I am not an expert on the subject, but I have always heard never to run straight AV gas or it will burn the motor up. I always heard run a mix, like 1/3 AV gas and 2/3 92 octane. Also 76 now has a 100 octane race gas you can buy at the pump that is really good, or you can always add a little 110 octane race gas to your tank with the 92 and make it run like a champ.

ntsqd

Do some research on the web. I recall a site that stated the reasons why AV gas was not a good choice for race or high compresion engines. Partly had to do with the altitude the fuel's octane was rated at, as I recall. Not sure why altitude would affect the octane rating but appearently it does. The jist of it was that while 110 LL exists, it is rated to be 110 at 10k feet and isn't 110 @ sea level or something to that effect. Then there is something to do with lubricity of the fuel. Even the leaded AV fuel doesn't supply the valve lubrication most surface engines are designed to use. So burning it up as in fire, no, but burning the valve seats up, yes.
Not to mention that AV gas supposedly is illegal to burn in surface craft. Gov'ts got to get it's road tax.....

"Teach you all I know and you're still stupid"
-- Howdy Lee

BradM