Baja 1000 - Getting Involved

wfritts911

Reaction
I start a 6 month sabbatical from my day job tomorrow and am planning on coming down to spectate the 1000 and then ride Baja afterwards on my dirt bike. Hoping to get involved with a team or something and help in pits/chase/etc. Might be coming solo unless I can convince some friends who are still employed to come with. Never been involved with desert racing but my background is:
  • Mechanical Engineer specializing in 3D design of industrial equipment (Solidworks)
  • Dirt bike rider/casual racer(hare scrambles and enduros), autocross and drag racing street cars.
  • Very mechanical savvy. Swapped an LS1 into a Datsun 280Z and BMW E30, rebuilt transmissions/rear ends/etc.
  • Did Baja SAE for three years in college(University of Arkansas). Won some trophies, broke a lot of parts, fixed a lot of parts(That's me with our calibrated spindle straightening pole, my custom brake calipers using mountain bike pads, and a picture of our car). For those not familiar it's a collegiate competition with 100+ schools who build a small buggy powered by a Briggs 10HP motor.
I'm pretty much free from now until the race. I'm located in Northwest Arkansas, but heading to Colorado, Utah, etc starting next week to ride dirt bikes. Could come down early for pre-running and what not if I had the opportunity. One of my friends who I am trying to convince to come with is also a mechanical engineer, but he would only be available during race time. Any advice you guys can give would be much appreciated, whether its how to get involved, where I should stay/spectate/etc. Would love to get hooked up with a semi-professional team or similar, not sure if that's feasible or not.

Thanks,

Will

Baja SAE Spindle Straightener.jpgBaja SAE Calipers.jpgBaja SAE trophies.jpg

MasTacos

Reaction