Baja 500

dan_hunt228

Reaction
I am new to off road racing and we are going to race the 500. I have some questions about what it takes to get across the border.
This is what i know:
Passport or drivers license and birth cert
Instant Mexico auto insurance
Travel cards

This is what i don't know:
Can we get across at any hour
Is the banco (for the touris cards) open at all hours
Besides the insur and registration what do we need to get our trucks and trailes across

Any and all help would be appreciated, by the way we are coming from denver.

dan hunt

1_1600_racer

Reaction
You should start by talking to Score- International, their phone no is 818-225-8402. Sal should be able to give you all the requirements and any pointers for easy border crossing.

FABRICATOR

Reaction
The border at Tijuana is open 24 hrs. Some of the others close at night. The banks (banko) are not open at all hours. You shouldn't need tourist cards for where you are going, but you can get them here at airports and some travel agents have them. It's usually very easy to enter Mexico. They have been cracking down on fuel barrels in open trucks, but they are usually OK inside trailers. Sometimes they ask to see paperwork for OHVs. Sometimes our border agents do the same on the way back. Don't sweat it, just follow the funky signs through TJ and be careful with traffic around there. Take a bunch of change and $1 bills for the toll booths. Don't waste time and money changing dollars to pesos. All the businesses in Baja Norte like our money. Observe the speed limits in towns. Don't let the 16 year old military boys with M-16s worry you. Any racing stickers are, usually, very appreciated. Act as you do here! If you go at night you will miss some nice scenery.

<font color=orange>The best ideas are the ones that look obvious to the casual observer.</font color=orange>

partybarge_pilot

Reaction