Beginner car

CanyonMan

Does anybody have any suggestions for a beginner rally car? I have been considering a toyota celica gt or possibly a honda crx or civic. I am on a very limited budget and need a good base car to start. AnNy help would be greatly appreciated.

Lyrch

TimHayosh

How ironic.

I am a beginner, and I am building a car. I am building a Toyota FX16. Why?

1.) Light. 2110 lbs (Stock).
2.) Fast. There are many Japanese-spec 20 valve engines available cheap; making 150 hp stock.
3.) Plentiful. Junkyards 'round here have bunches of 'em.
4.) Cheap. Paid $200 for mine; and it was running.
5.) Parts Commonality. Toyota Corolla, Chevy Nova from the same years are nearly the same.
6.) Spacious. PLENTY of room inside for the cage.
7.) Upgradeable. 6 Speed transmision, 200HP engine, turbo, supercharger, etc.
8.) 4 Wheel MacPhersons. I am building custom struts, will make available to ???
9.) Nimble. 95.7" wheelbase easy to handle in the woods.
10.) FRONT WHEEL DRIVE.

There's 10 reasons. It wasn't my first choice for a project, but it has a valid rally history and the 10 reasons above are hard to refute. There are probably several cars that meet the description above. Find one you like and go for it!

BTW, if you want to watch an absolute rookie get started building, I am documenting my FX16 build up. I begin the cage installation tonight. <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.timthedriver.com/toyota_home.htm>Click here</A> to see the progress so far.

Good Luck!

Happy motoring, Tim

CanyonMan

Sweet!! I just looked at your website for the buildup and it looks like you have a great start. I may have to find my own FX, especially if they are so cheap, and upgradeable. Good luck on the car and keep me posted. I'll let you know if I come up with something to wrench on.

Lyrch

Bryan_D

Hey Canyon arent you in Tucson? And I think that Tim is in Phoenix. You two should hook up and maybe be able to pool your knowledge and get something going.

Jeep this Oval Boys