Beginner Welders

elcaprerunner

Reaction
I am a student at Mt. SAC in Covina (well actually Walnut). I am taking fabrication/welding classes and plan to make a career of it. It is my first semester and the only welding experience I have is in my class. So far the whole semester up untill a couple of weeks ago we have been stick welding (boring, can't build a prerunner with a stick welder), and we were just recently tought MIG welding. I love it! I asked for a MIG welder for Christmas. Now here comes my question. Can anyone recomend a good MIG welder for a beginner? (I tried a search and nothing came up) At school I use a Miller, I forgot what model but it is 220 volt, blue (all Millers are blue though aren't they), and all of the readouts are digital, which I like alot. I was thinking about a 110 volt but I will have no use for it, it does not get hot enough to get good penetration. I am also looking for something under $1200. What does everyone use in their garage (220 volt)? And what did all of you big, badass fabricators start out with? I will be using this at home in my garage, not in a shop or anything. Also, what kind of wire should I use? I will mostly be welding mild steel. And about electricity: Everyone who runs a 220 volt in their garage, if you use it on a regular basis how is it on electric bills? And can your electrical system handle 100% capacity MIG welder? Or do you think I would have to get a lower capacity for my house? Any electricians out there? What problems would I look out for with a basic electrical system and a 220 volt, 100% capacity MIG welder?

Wow that was alot, but I am sure alot of you guys have experience in this subject. Thank you in advance.

DIRT'S FOR RACING, PRERUNNERS ARE FOR GETTING THERE!

H.O.R.E.
Hemet Off-Road Enthusiests

Bonzen

Reaction
I'm not an expert, but I've seen clean prerunners built with a 135. (Lincoln & Hobart)

Fish has a 135 Miller, it does good but sometimes has problems. Not sure why.