• Forum membership has its advantages....

Best Class for Novice?

Just joined and am looking for some guidance on which class to pursue as a complete novice.

Did some basic internet research and the general consensus is that class 11 is for the novice but also looked at the Stock Full class and it appears that could be a possibility as well.

Any lessons learned will be greatly appreciated.

- Globalhub

wheezy

"PRO PHOTO"
A lot of guys start in 5. You won't come out and win any big races, but you'll learn and have fun. There is no group that helps eachother or has more of a community where we want to help guys like you get going.

And you'll have WAY more fun than you will in a class 11.

Cars available for sale for cheap these days too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AZ7000'

Rental, waaayyyy cheaper than buying/building, prepping, and chasing your own car. Then in a year or so you can decide if you can afford it. Bajaracingadventures.com is where the winner of this years SF250 in TT and TT Spec started.

Someone on here said take 5 $100 bills out to your BBQ and light them on fire, that's the same as hitting a rock and blowing up a wheel.... If you still feel good and not sick to your stomach then buy a race car and go for it!!!

NIKAL

Hands down the 1600 class would be the best bet. 1600 class rules for the most part dont change, except for minor upgrades every few years if that, which any car can do. An older car can be just as competitive as a brand new car. Every single desert series runs the same rules, unlike many other classes. You can find good used 1600 cars for a reasonable price. Its truly a drivers class and what you learn in a 1600 car will help you, if you later decided to buy or build a faster class car. Also prepping a 1600 car is pretty easy, the biggest PITA is dealing with torsion bars and front leafs vs a coil-over shock. IMO anything with a metal body sucks to work around and repair.

JDDurfey