Best Year to build baja bug?

BigB99

Reaction
not sure where to post this but just wondering what the best year to get to build a vw baja bug just somthing simple and affordable. irs rear or swing axle?? im new to bugs thanks

michael

Reaction
I would say definitely IRS....from there it depends on your usage and how much coin ya wanna spend. Most consider a link pin front beam stronger......it should be easier to add an IRS to an early pan than a link pin front to a late pan. No Super Beetles!

Michael <A target="_blank" HREF=http://mkparker.com/goose>mkparker.com/goose</A>

Mike_HKmtrsprts

Reaction
Michael is right I would go pre 1968 and add the mounts for IRS to the rear torsion tube trying to convert a ball joint front end to a link pin requires alot of fab work, you cant just bolt one up to the other,I have a built type 1 transmission that would be a good budget transmission for your baja before you slap down the money for a 3k bus box mines close ratio w/ a super diff,help bring back engine power after you go to a bigger tire....Mike

<font color=red>The dump you take is the gold I make so I can afford to play and race!</font color=red>

Wayne_Nosala

Reaction
The simplest way would start with a 69
They were already set up with IRS. The stock arms
are easy to beef up & do shock mounts with a simple weld-on kit
(requires removing the arms)
This way you would already have the transmission,CVs axles,stubs & correct breaks

They come with ball joint in the front & they work fine with some
easy beef up mods to the shock towers & aftermarket shocks

its a good combo for a start, later you can convert to a link
pin set up in the front if you need more travel
Wayne

Nosala.com<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by Wayne_Nosala on 02/10/03 07:53 PM (server time).</FONT></P>

ntsqd

Reaction
Don't even consider running a swingaxle if you have a choice. They can be evil.