Budget Desert Buggy Build. . .component suggestions???

atomicjoe23

Reaction
OK. . .here's the deal. . .I want to build a two-seat buggy. . .mostly for play. . .I'm gonna build the chassis to meet some certain class requirement (I'm not sure which right now. . .I can't open the PDF file to look at the class rules here at school) so that I can upgrade the components as time and my driving abilities dictate. . .I'm on a something of a budget at the moment seeing as how I'm a full-time college student.

First off I want to head off any comments about how I should buy a new or used buggy instead of building one. . .I don't want to nor can I afford to buy either, secondly this will not be the first buggy that I have ever designed and built from scratch. . .so I'm painfully aware of the trials, tribulations, and headaches involved in this type of project. . .I either have the equipment or access to the equipment necessary to build the entire buggy including AutoCAD, SolidWorks, BendTech, welder, tube notcher, chopsaw, lathe, mill, ironworker, shear, hydraulic press, etc. . . .

Here's what I'm looking for. . .my previous experience has only been with single seat buggies for a SPEC race series and were built around ATV/UTV components so I'm not extremely familiar with full-size buggy components. . .

. . .could you guys make some suggestions as to "budget" buggy components. . .I'm gonna design and build my own A-arms and trailing arms so I'm talking about stuff like engine/transmission suggestions, axles, etc. . .I would like to pick up as much stuff as I can used. . .I'm patient and in no rush to get it done NOW. . .if I have to wait for something I have to wait for something. . .it's not the end of the world.

Thanks for your help and suggestions!!!

Captain Air Time

Reaction
You've got to narrow it down a bit.
'full size buggy' is a pretty vague statement.

2wd or 4wd?
front, mid, rear engine?
4cyl, blown big block?