Building a-arms soon.. need pro advice on design.

Hey guys, just signed up here but should have done it long ago...

well im building a 4 door 85 silverado and this is what i have so far

the lower arms and uppers i want to use Delrin bushings (should i use heims for uppers??)

for the spindle attachment on the lower arm , from what i have came up with is

1.5" uniball cups welded to the end of LCA
1.5 uniball with snap ring

spindle...

Misalignemet spacers and am going to see about modding my stock spindle to mount the uniball and misalignment spacer on like a clevis setup..

spindle to UCA

sideway 1.5 uniball( should i use the uniball cup and snap ring on top too?)

UCA bolts on to that sideway uniball with misalignment spacers in both sides .

and 7/8 heims (outer tie rod) and 1 1/4 heim (inner tie rod)

thats what i have so far... this is my first build of this kind so please excuse the "noobish" nature of my post...

so please any advice or better setup on a budget that you know is better i would appreciate it very much!

thanks guys

Last edited:

TauMau

Be careful mounting uniballs sideways...it causes steering to be extremely limited. If I were in your position I'd do:

UCA: Heim Inner/Vertical uniball outer (Bolt passes through the uniball vertically)
LCA: Bushing Inner/Vertical uniball outer

IMO that'd give you the best combination of steering/travel/adjustability

great advice.. thanks for that.. i honestly thought mounting the uni sideways on the spindle would be the better design.. but now that you mention it it makes sence.

on the outer uniball on the LCA should i use the same size misalignment spacers on top and bottom of the uniball?

im thinking about modding the spindles off a 1 ton chevy.. but it is a cast piece.. whats your thought?? i dont have the money to buy a pricey spindle right at the moment.

TauMau

You ought to hit up "scottm" from this thread with your questions:

http://www.race-dezert.com/forum/showthread.php?t=62194