Can a regular Joe race the Mexican 1000?

Nole Quiring

Reaction
I've never raced. Anything. I spent a week in Baja on a family road trip when I was in high school but that was 20+ years ago. That's the extent of my experience with this. I have a 79 Ford I'm starting to build. Can I do this realistically? I've given myself til 2019 to have my truck built, then I want to enter for the 2020 race. The theory is I have a year to test it out and fix whatever I did wrong. Plus I'm hoping to get down for 2019 to check out the race, see what's what, and hopefully get to meet some of the folks already competing.

When I come on this site I see people building and racing amazing vehicles. In build threads, I often see a post where the owner says "Hey I just got another sponsor on board, so and so is giving me wheels/tires/seats/etc."

That kind of thing is great, I expect its a bonus of being in the sport and being good at it.

My problem? I'm a carpenter. I don't have connections, and as I said before I've never raced so who the hell would give me anything?.

I don't have a problem with building the truck myself, I like doing this sort of thing. I'm not whining about sponsorship or asking for a handout (just want that to be clear), I'm just asking: can I do this on a personal budget and run this race?

rustyb

Reaction
Hell yeah you can race it. I'm sure a lot of people have done it as a first race. Just be smart, don't drive over your head, be courteous and get out of the way of faster vehicles. NORRA is awesome because you have race sections and transit sections, and with plenty of time allotted for the transit sections, you have time to get out and stretch your legs, have a bite to eat, etc. You get to sleep in a bed at night. You have people running the race who love what they're doing and it shows. You can't beat a taco and beer party every night at the finish line!