Car fire, chassis total loss or stress relief fix????

Samco Fab

Reaction
I look at pictures of Kory Sheelers TT burned, and have looked at a couple of other class 1 cars that burned to the ground.

It makes me wonder if the 4130 chassis was not excessively warped out of shape or cracked if it could be stressed releaved post burn and be as good if not better than before??

I know that a number of TT's out there have been oven stress releaved. What tempeture is this done at?

My initial thought is that unless the tube is melted and deformed, it should be able to be re heat treated with a stress relief process and be good to go.

Welding gets the tube much hotter than a fire, the stress relief process is a controled heating and cooling, would it take out any brittle localized heat treatment from water or fire retardant sprayed on a burning wreck??

Random Thoughts Racing

Reaction
Im no expert at chasis rererections, but perhaps if a chassis were built on a specific jig (or otherwise verified) beforehand that it could be precisely rechecked for "squareness" after a fire to to confirm all critical geometry.

If a chassis can be cost effectively reserected after a fire then it begs the question if a heat (or cryo) treatment beforehand wouldnt be prudent for added safety.

jsallenbach

Reaction
I think the best would be to contact a Heat treatment place and ask them, or contact a metalurgist (SP).

Ziggy

Reaction
Tim at Morgans Machine and Marine in Walnut Creek(speed shop) is a racing guru and a metalurgist.
Ph 925 939 7346

phatford

Reaction
Even if the fire were not too hot.... It would have been cooked very uneven and this is where you run into stress problems. One part tempered the other not and Boom Crack. Are you going to trust your life in a cage that may fail? To what save 20K at the most? Life.... 20K???? hmmmm