Charlynn steering???

atomicjoe23

Reaction
Anyone care to explain what Charlynn steering is??? I know it's VW based, but I have no experience with VW's at all. . .I can't even find one around locally in a junkyard to crawl under and look at. . .

. . .I am looking at building a small 2 seat buggy and one of the buggies that I was looking at (on paper) just to get an idea of what I wanted said it had Charlynn steering. . .I've seen a few posts on here that talked about Charlynn steering, but none seemed to explain them. . .

. . .how different are they from a normal rack & pinion or steering box???

Thanks!!!

redmist

Reaction
It's not a VW part at all. It's an aftermarket PS unit that runs inline with the steering column.
There are some issues with the system. It does tend to disguise any self centering, so you'll have to run large amounts of castor. It's also got small amounts of play in the unit, which really show up on hard packed surfaces at high speed.

atomicjoe23

Reaction
OK. . .thanks for the quick education. . .

. . .feel kinda dumb thinking it was a VW thing now. . .sounds like I'd rather stick with a R&P or steering box. . .

. . .is the main advantage packaging since it runs inline with the steering column?

Was this ever OEM on anything???

Thanks!!!

Wilson

Reaction
OK. . .thanks for the quick education. . .

. . .feel kinda dumb thinking it was a VW thing now. . .sounds like I'd rather stick with a R&P or steering box. . .

. . .is the main advantage packaging since it runs inline with the steering column?

Was this ever OEM on anything???

Thanks!!!