Chevy 1500 suggestions?

D.I.W.

Reaction
Hey all,

Finally got my hands on what seems like a decent project. 92 Chevy C1500, the 5.7L 350. Standard cab/bed (stepside). I'm pretty new to the engine department, semi-familiar with suspension. What would you suggest i start working toward to get something desert-worthy (other than buy a new truck because it's already growing on me, and my s-10 is jealous).

Thanks for any help!

D.I.W.

Reaction
Yup, I know i'll do exhaust, that's easy enough, but what about camwork? I also heard about a 4-7 cylinder firing swap you can do that will yield a little power, anyone know about this? Might as well if i'm going to be tearing the engine apart right?

dirtdudeaz

Reaction
well any more power than stock and youll need to upgrade the transmission or maybe you already plan on buying a race transmission from somewhere. Also this might include a new torque converter. Also not sure if you planned on it but you might consider changing the rear (and front if 4wd) gears up.

if you don't plan to build your headers, dynatech makes really nice stuff. I have them on my DD and they let the truck breathe a lot better with the cat back and intake.

Get a cam for it, these motors like them a lot.

Never heard of the cylinder thing you mentioned...

And if you don't plan on racing this thing at all consider adding a supercharger such as a magnacharger.

Lastly, to tie all of the upgrades and mods together, take your truck to a dyno shop and let them dyno tune your truck to get the best out of it. Not just a power programmer, they are crap; but a dyno tune.

richcomstock

Reaction