Class 9 newb need advise

rydaban

Reaction
So I have an opportunity to own a class 9 race car in a trade and I'm pretty excited about it but at the same time I don't want to get in over my head. My plan is to actually race this car but I'm completely new to the racing scene and I live in Colorado where there isn't a whole lot of racing going on, at least that I know of. I've been researching a bit on this class and it seems like it would be a good for a beginner and its one of the less "expensive" classes which is good for me, because I'm still not sure if this is worth it. I'm just wondering what all is needed to be in a race, like do I need a "race team"/ crew or could I just go by myself? Do I need to take any courses or can an average joe just show up and race? Also how much does a built car normally cost? Any input would be appreciated!

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Bro_Gill

Reaction
Anyone can race, no classes needed. Class 9 is a great beginners class, especially if you can turn a wrench, because much of the prep and repair can be done by yourself. Whatever you think it will cost to race, double that number and you will be in the ball park for having a hobby. If you want to be serious and race for points and season championships, triple it. As far as crew/chief- I have gone to races with my wife, kid, and one friend, but we have always been able to find folks to split pits with and share help. The 9 guys will all support this thinking. And what Dave said about fireguys- Send a message to either Jason or Paul, they can give you great advice.

rustyb

Reaction
C.O.R.E runs races in Deertrail, an hour east of Denver, on a 10-mile course. I just go there on the quad but it's a fun track, not super rough, no whoops, well-suited to a limited travel car.

Colorado Off Road Extreme Deertrail, CO Home

Also look on the Class 9 forum on this site.

rydaban

Reaction