• Forum membership has its advantages....

Computer Aided Design tools used in the industry

Bob_Sheaves

Ohayo goziamasu! (that means "Good Morning" in Japanese):

I have followed the link-coil discussion vs. leaf (hotchkiss) suspension design with great interest.

I have a question of some personal relevance (I am a vehicle dynamics engineer by trade) directed at the industry reps on this board, "What CAD tools (if any) do you use and why or why not?"

The second half of this question: "Is there any interest in utilizing the same design tools the 'Big 3' use for your projects?"

Best regards,

Bob Sheaves

Donahoe

DRE uses Autocad...Turbo cad .......... Solid works....... But mostly I use chalk & concreate...

NEVER LIFT!!!!!

Bob_Sheaves

I appreciate your answers to the first part of the question. Judging from the tools, it seems that cost is an issue. Is this true? Being in the industry for a number of years, I know what I have invested in my personal CATIA and DADS software and hardware. Which leads me back to the original post...

How do you do your preliminary analysis to ensure you haven't made an unforseen "oops" in the design of the vehicle? A/Cad, nor the others has even the slightest analysis capability (by this I am NOT referring to FEA- Finite Element Analysis- but rather dynamic analysis of the handling characteristics you have designed in). Experience can cover a great multitude of sins, but not performing some dynamics on a design seems to be "unusual". Could you please explain in more detail?

Arigato goziamasu! (formal "Thank you"- accompanied by a bow)

Bob Sheaves

Attachments

Donahoe