• Forum membership has its advantages....

Cost of Race Photo's

MTPyle

Just trying to understand how this game works. I am new to this and its pretty confusing from the outside. So far we have reached out to a few photographers that had some good shots of us and negotiated what I thought a fair price and I paid for them. Seemed to work well for both of us.

But for Baja 1000 it seems all the photos went to one guy that told me he wanted a lot for them. He had some good shots for sure but just didn't seem like that was a fair price. Maybe I am just too cheap? I didn't want to spend that much so I figured I would just go buy my favorite image off his site in print for $30. I went back to do just that and he took all my photos down. I don't think he liked me saying I wasn't going to pay the asking price. He said thats the cost of a wheel and tire that I could leave out in the desert. In other words I waste a bunch of money racing a TT spec so whats a little more... Maybe thats so but I just didn't want to pay that much for photos just to add to my library. We are not a big high Dollar team so every dollar matters and we are not using them for any promotion. Its just me and my boys racing.

What has been your experience with the cost of photos? How much are pre buy packages and how much for after the race just buying from the photographer?

Whats fair for some photos from Baja 100? in the states I can get a helicopter to follow me for $600 but maybe thats not a fair comparison?

What should my plan be for the BITD season? I don't want to feel like I am being worked over after the race.

BTW- I have big respect for these guys, they go thru hell to get some great shots. Not trying to de value what they do. Everything has its value to the guy paying for the product, its worth what someone will pay regardless of how hard you worked to create the product.