Critique on my suspension

Muddi44

Reaction
OK guys, I have seen others have posted videos on their setups, youtube link to a short vid of my truck (it is not my video therefore a couple of other trucks are at the start, I am on the last minute, car 52)
Current setup is 188lb/inch parabolics on the rear, 270lb/inch front. Fox 2" resis front & rear, front shimmed 50:50, rear 40:40.
I am pleased with the set up & will be fitting 4" air bumps, hopefully in time for the next race. I am a complete novice at setting up suspension,so over to you, does it look OK. What I am aiming for with the air bumps is to have a gently rising rate for the 1st 2" or so & then a steep rising rate for the last 2", this is so that I can have a softer spring rate for when the air bumps are not in play. Some of the courses we race on are rally stages & I need compliance in the suspension for these. We do not have the big whoops you desert racers have so overall travel is pegged at 11"
For information I race in a leafsprung only class, any thing else goes, I probably have the smallest engine competing this season. At this race I was 27th out of 51. Courses are relatively short (6 miles or so) often through trees etc. Wheel track cannot be too wide or the tracks will be too narrow, W/base is currently 101"

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtzP_9HR5v8"]YouTube - AWDC Round 3 Radnor,Cars 106 101 & 52. 24th May 2009[/ame]

Tim

FastEddy760

Reaction
Hi Tim,

Interesting racing you got going on over there.

My 2¢ based on the current value of the dollar...

Consider bypasses. It seems you might have the spring rate at or near where it needs to be.
The bump stops will help when you bottom, however I do not see the need to 'catch' the truck based on the portion of the course in the video. I think this might be a waste of money.

What you do need to do is stop the oscillating bounce from fast compression and fast rebounding.