CV vs. U-Joint

Co-Dog

Has anybody ever tried using CV joints instead of u-joints on a driveshaft? I assume there must be a very good reason that I haven't seen it.

partybarge_pilot

Yes, I prepped a MTG stadium truck that had one in the front. Using a cardian joint would accomplish the same thing for a lot less money.

manualshifter

AW: Re: CV vs. U-Joint

Based on what I´ve seen so far:
CV´s create more heat, have the risk of getting the boot damaged and are more sensitive to a good service. But if you have a good one, you reduce vibrations, which can help other components of the driveline and the car.
U-joints are usually much cheaper and less risky.

jpndave

I am no expert on the subject but what I have found out in my experiences and research is that the CV joints don't handle the higher speed a driveshaft has. Boots end up a real problem at higher speeds (can't use slow speed high angle boots). On the halfshafts, they are running at 1/4-1/5 (depending on your diff ratio) the speed of the driveshafts. Torque loads are less but at the higher speeds, they want to throw the balls out of the joints. The GKN catalog has formulas for all of this but finding real world numbers to plug in ends up a bit of a guess I think and Honestly, I would trust those here with experience more than the numbers (like partybarge_pilot). I have an issue on my current project that would really be easier (and probably smoother) to do with a CV but I am nervous to do it and will probably end up using two double cardan joints on the front and a u-joint/double cardan rear. There is some really good info here: http://www.4xshaft.com/index.html

partybarge_pilot

I have an issue on my current project that would really be easier (and probably smoother) to do with a CV but I am nervous to do it and will probably end up using two double cardan joints on the front and a u-joint/double cardan rear.
Why 2?

Jess@HighAngle