dextarity and welding

mikeyfrombc

Reaction
a buddy and i where chatting about tig welding and i mentioned some of the work i,ve seen on here . he told me about a local racer who had his car built by one of the top prostock chassis builders . while at the shop finishing details on the chassis he watched the welder finishing some welds , he was amazed at the skills of the welder as he was standing and was welding the funny car cage , he welded the whole dia of the tube from one position and effortlessly switched hands with the torch and filler rod to weld the opposite side of the tube . to me that is crazy skills hell i can barely print my name with my left hand let alone control a torch well enough to match the welds of my right hand .

Scott_F

Reaction
To be a good TIG welder, you have to be at least 80-90% as good with your off hand. I am a right handed welder, and I avoid welding with my left hand whenever I can, but sometimes it is necessary. I have some serious injuries to my hands and wrists, with very limited dexterity and range of motion, which makes it all the more challenging. Even so, I can still do a very nice weld with my left hand. Fortunately I have always been an ambidextrous person. For me, position, comfort and line of sight are everything.

atomicjoe23

Reaction
No way do I think I could lay a decent bead with my left hand. . .I've never even tried though.

I'm with you Mikey. . .I can barely print on the level of a 5 yr. old with my left hand!

DBMETALWORX

Reaction
no way do i think i could lay a decent bead with my left hand. . .i've never even tried though.

I'm with you mikey. . .i can barely print on the level of a 5 yr. Old with my left hand!
i can't write left handed either, but welding is much easier. Especially when it's needed. Just start slowly, and it'll come to you before you know it...

mikeyfrombc

Reaction
i,ve practiced a bit and i can do it halfass nothing i,d post a image of LOL