dual relief case vw t1

Zac Reish

Reaction
ok I know this is going to rank up there with one of the dumbest questions of all time, but how can you tell if you have a dual relief case. what is the advantage of this and the reason I ask is because i recently acqured a motor that may not be dual relief. Should this case be scrapped. I have heard they are not worth building high performance motors.

Brian Mc

Reaction
The only dumb question is the one not asked!

I am new to the 1600 class, so I dont know either. I think it is a great question. We all have those ?'s that we dont want to ask, but want the answer.

Brian

DailyPedal

Reaction
Look at the bottom of the case, there are nickel-sized caps with a flat screwdriver slot facing toward the ground. If there is only one, it is single relief, two is dual relief. One plug is toward the front of the motor near the oil pump and the other is back by the rear main-flywheel. You can also do an internet search on the case number 71 and newer is dual relief. If it has 8mm cylinder studs, it is more than likely a dual relief. This is not failsafe as some cases have been rebuilt by VW back in the day and may not have factory serial numbers, or sometimes people install a variety of aftermarket gizmos that may confuse you...if you still are not sure, take some pics and someone will help...

Co-Dog

Reaction
ok I know this is going to rank up there with one of the dumbest questions of all time, but how can you tell if you have a dual relief case. what is the advantage of this and the reason I ask is because i recently acqured a motor that may not be dual relief. Should this case be scrapped. I have heard they are not worth building high performance motors.