• Forum membership has its advantages....

Electric starter XR650R?

Mike Hobbs

At almost 50 years old starting that beast is a pain in the arse to me. Have called around and it seems no one makes an e-start for them anymore. If anyone has an idea where I can get one I'd very thankful. It's a 2007 model year Honda XR650R.

Thanks,
Hobbs

motoman29

if you can find one, they are $1000+++.

IMO, they are not worth it. They are heavy and expensive.

Get your carb dialed in and get your starting routine down, and it will start easy. I can do it in flip flops all day long.

Mike Hobbs

Not sure how old you are but I've been riding and racing for over 35 years. I only ride the bike once in a while and yes I put fuel stabilizer in the fuel if that is your next question. It's a plated XR in Cali so they are hard to get. It's already a pig so another 14 pounds won't make that big of a difference.

if you can find one, they are $1000+++.

IMO, they are not worth it. They are heavy and expensive.

Get your carb dialed in and get your starting routine down, and it will start easy. I can do it in flip flops all day long.

MANIAC998

I've heard someone mention that the assembly off from the Honda Quad will retro-fit. It would probably be costly though, as I think you would need the cases.

partybarge_pilot

The TRX700 unit will not swap over, the cases are completely different unfortunately. Baja designs has not made the starter kit for those in years. Goki? used to make one but I think they are long out of production also.

Baja D "Diego"

Hey Hobbs the Electric start kits for the XR650R are very rare and hard to come by now a days. We discontinued ours about 7yrs ago and Joe Race Products discontinued his shortly after ours. You might and say might find one on EBAY that is used. Good Luck on your findings bud!

motoman29