Engine Oil Analysis

Billy_the_Kid

Reaction
So is anybody in Off Road doing any kind of engine oil analysis?

I work in the Predictive Maintenance field at a large ductile iron foundry. Most of my work is in vibration analysis and infrared thermography, but I do look at a good portion of oil analysis data on occasion. When my off road program gets going again, I want to start using engine oil analysis to determine engine wear. Most of the companies we deal with specialize in industrial applications which are mostly hydraulic and not engine related. Does anybody know of any good oil labs? or have any experience with oil analysis as it relates to racing applications?

Thanks

#817 CORR Stock

Bill Schmitt

Chris_Wilson

Reaction
Every race man! Cheap insurance for big buck motors.

Billy_the_Kid

Reaction
Who do you use? And what do you have them check for, base oil integrity, additive package, wear particles, or all of the above?

#817 CORR Stock

Bill Schmitt

curt

Reaction
They're probably not any good until they get some experience but I saw an oil analyzer setup at Jiffy Lube the last time I was there. The tech told me they were just getting ready to train on it and he would run some "practice" samples for us just to see what we could see. Curt

VORRA Class 7

FABRICATOR

Reaction