Fab costs?????

singlehanded

Reaction
I am starting to get some people who have asked me to build bumpers and cages for them, but I dont really have an idea what to charge. I am going to build an front bumper for a 94 chevy fullsize, he is going to buy all the material. I will be just bending nocthing and welding. I have little experience, but built a pretty nice bumper for my own ranger. Should I figure by hour or by the job. If by hour how much an hour? or how much for a bumper cage ect. Any thought would be great.THANKS......

local

motoxscott

Reaction
You need to factor in material costs, labor and consumables. If you do your work fairly slow or very fast you might over or under charge your labor. Look at what other fab shops charge and compare their work to yours. It depends on what materials you're using and how you're building it. Is it DOM, MIG welded, is it bolt on where you have to make custom mounts or it is just welded to the frame?

You need to look at all the options and come up with something that hopefully works for you and your customers.

or roll some dice and throw out a number.............

Just remember, working on your own truck or friends is one thing, but working on a complete strangers who's paying is another. One word LIABILITY, just dont jump in over your head when you're not ready to.

Tim

Reaction
If I were you I would start out a notch below what I see most bumpers going for. It will give people an incentive to have a new fabricator build their bumper instead of a tested and well known one. I have noticed some smaller less quality bumpers going for as little as 250 and some nicer more usuable bumpers going for around 400 to 650$. Since your NOT paying for materials I would find out how much they generally cost and factor it out. The first few you might over or under shoot your price so you can decide if it is worth your time etc. and change price accordingly. good luck, Tim

Kritter

Krittro Campbell
Reaction