• Forum membership has its advantages....

First ever "prerunner" build

Lemur

Hi all,
This is my first every prerunner build so I am very new to this. First of I have little to none metal working experience but I have a more that average garage with garage tools if that makes sense. I recently picked up a 2000 Ford Ranger with a V6 5 speed manual. I have a real tight budget right now only about 5k is. Although over a long time slowly put money into this truck to make a true prerunner. I only about right now want something that can take a small beating nothing huge. While still being street legal. I want it to mostly look the part though.. I want it to look the park and still take a small beating. Later plans for this truck are long travel kit and roll cages for the cab and bed cages so I can do longer shocks and what not. But for right now I don't want it to look stock, want it to take a small beating and I want it to be a nice summer driver while still being street legal. Any tricks on how to accomplish this??? I have some mechanical knowledge, running corvettes at Bonneville in Utah so I can do a fair share of mechanical items. Looking around to change the looks of this truck Add to dictionary or however you spell it kept popping up. Thought on this company? I would like to thank everyone in advance for their knowledge and help.

Strapped

There are some ugly truths to desert toys.

Suspension is a huge part of what makes an offroad truck perform and is expensive even for a mild build. That is to say a functional 'prerunner' requires a healthy investment upfront- no way around it. It's a steep curve in terms of dollars. Achieving significantly better results than stock will soak up $5k pretty quick but if you're privy to landing good deals, maybe some used parts, that will help. Keep in mind you're entering a different realm than cosmetic frame-drop lift kits. One can easily blow $10k per axle for a long-travel truck built right.