First Test Drive

Igino

What do I need for the first test run in my truck - I have the registration, but its not street legal. I just wanna get off-road a bit. I think i need a green sticker, but what about insurance? Is there a way to protect myself if I damage property or hurt someone else? Thanks!

Jack

Yes, you need a green sticker. And yes if you are on state land, you are supossed to have insurance, but most don't ask and don't tell.

3G RACING

theres plenty of insurance guys on here,
what i did was, go to the dmv, get a green sticker, its much cheaper than keeping the plates, if you wanna get the plates, you have to have a windshield and turn signals and i think you cant be wider than 100''?? something like that....
what are your plans for this truck? prerunner? daily driver beat er upper??

Igino

its a completely dedicated race truck. Just getting into racing - gonna try to hit up the MDR sept 26th. My buddy and i have zero off-road racing experience. We've been building this truck for a little over a year now and its about time to put up or shut up.

Igino

while we're on the topic - i would any advice anyone has on both how and what to test, and tips for the first race. We're gonna try to pre-run the lucerne B course on monday.

Wild bill

I personally would get an experienced driver to test the truck first. You will have a steep learning curve on shock setup, etc. An experienced driver can dial the truck in much quicker. I took it a step further and let a friend drive the truck in the first race so that I could see how fast was safe. I learned more in 150 miles in the co-drive seat than I ever would of driving.

Igino

here's a pic of the truck from about a month ago. Got a lot of progress since then - but no pics.

Attachments

Igino

what happens if you get caught without a green sticker? DMV is closed today (budget cuts)

Tacochase

ugh - do you know how much the fine is?