First truck race in desert in a truck....advice needed

Fire1998

Hey guys....Im racing the mint 400 in my rebuilt 30yo Jeepspeed 2700 class Dodge Ram50. Truck is modernized with all new kings and bumpstops, wiring, 2 GPS, seats, new 2.6 motor and 4 speed auto transmission and more. Truck was stored inside for 30 years and was a good platform to start with. Anyway thats background on truck. Background on the driver....me...ive been racing dirtbikes for 25 years. My copilot and I have raced many BITD races on bikes since 2006. Im looking for any advice you can give me for my first race in a 4 wheel vehice. Probably not the best first race but truck is done after 6 months in shop...so why not!!!

Attachments

Blackmutt

I agree with RedRide. Racing is expensive and you'd hate to break in the first few miles over a weak part you could have discovered with a little testing.

Have fun and drive for a finish! Keep that truck sunny side up.

Advantage West

When you get caught, make sure your co rider gives a healthy wave to let the driver behind know that you see them and that your working on getting out of the way. If you cannot find a spot quickly, make sure to give another wave, so they know your not rabbiting but trying to find an opening to move over. Give them room but keep your speed up somewhat. You do not want to pull back on the track going slow in dust and have someone behind them slam into you. IMO, best practice for giving and getting respect as a newbie in a car.

J Prich

Drive within your limits, have realistic expectations based on your skills and the truck's ability, and have fun!

Fire1998

Have a knowledgeable person tune the new shock setup properly. Could make for a long uncomfortable morning.