• Forum membership has its advantages....

ford 9" swap

rdc

- users no longer part of the rdc family -
ford 9\" swap

im am looking to swap a 9" out of a lincoln versailles into my ranger with an 8.8". i have never done a swap like this before so what are the things i should look out for? my main concern is the braking system. will the brake lines match? will i be able to use the parking brake on the 9" with the ranger cable? what is a good price to pay for a versailles 9" and does anybody know of one for sale in the socal area?

Ryno

Re: ford 9\" swap

You can find a 9" pretty much anywhere in so cal. I know Fontana and IE have tons of wrecking yards. I wouldn't pay more than $500 for it though. Be concerned with total width (end to end), then check out the housing, make sure it's not bent, etc. If you can take out the ring and pinion assembly, I would, and check it out as well. Some yards won't let you, others will. Braking wise, you can make it work, with other hardware. Stainless Steel Brakes, TSI, etc all sell parts, ans most of them are pretty cheap. Wilwood and Baer are the others, but high $$$.

Ryno

Build it like a Rhino, and Leave it be.

Jerry Zaiden

Just buy one from a reputable rear end shop it will save time and head ache. They will do all the work and research. Put it together and it will be done right.

singlehanded

Re: ford 9" swap

Jerry got any shops that you would suggest?in o.c.

local

blind655

Re: ford 9" swap

I had Currie over in Anaheim build the 9" for my suburban. Haven't had any problems with it and their customer service is good.

Here is a link to their web site <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.currieenterprises.com/>http://www.currieenterprises.com/</A>

Later
Mike

ntsqd

I'm a little lost here. Why change out the 8.8" ? It fits, it works, and presumably it has the right ratio in it. May not be quite as strong as a 9", but it also consumes less power to drive than a 9"