Fox vs King: 2.0 Coilover Comparison - Evaluating Durability & Performance

*TRD*

Reaction
When it comes to 2.0 coilovers I have found that most people don't know the whole story about the differences between Fox and King. In order to better understand the differences, I dyno tested a Fox Remote Reservoir Coilover and a King Remote Reservoir Coilover. The article analyzes their performance as it relates to real world off-road driving. Next, I took the shocks apart to look at the piston, seals, oil, and piston rod in order to evaluate how they compare for short term and long term durability.

Fox vs King 2.0 Coilover Comparison

The article focuses on the most relevant information but I am happy to dive into the weeds and discuss any aspect you guys are interested in. For example, maybe someone wants to know why King disks are gold, and what that means for the performance/durability of the shock.

I have been tuning and engineering shocks since 2001. Before starting AccuTune Off-Road I was the chief engineer at an aftermarket shock manufacturer where I invented patented technology used in their premium products.

Dirty Harry

Reaction
Thanks for sharing Ryan, there was a lot of great information in there. I must confess though that it did feel heavily biased towards Fox, I was surprised to see that you carry both brands at AccuTune after reading the comparison. I was thinking "this dude is a Fox dealer". Like when you praise Fox for running higher nitrogen pressure for "improved resistance to cavitation" but then say if you increase the pressure in the King shocks "higher pressures increase friction and seal wear".