Fuel Cell - it's NEVER coming out? Problem???

wheezy

"PRO PHOTO"
Reaction
So it's too late to do anything about this "situation" - been building a class 5 for about two years now and we tried to balance the car as much as possible and work with what we had.

Bottom line is that the fuel cell ended up right above the tunnel, right behind the seats. The way the car is designed, it's NON REMOVEABLE. In fact, it would take a day or two of work to CUT the tubes out to remove the fuel cell!

I'm new to this stuff guys, I know this isn't an ideal setup by any means.

Just looking for some feedback... and hopefully someone with lots of experience to tell me "it's okay".... or "hey dipstick, did you think about (blank)"

Thanks...
T

Reaction
How will you replace the bladder then? Or is the car a throwaway? I'd suggest a portable Sawzall.

fathead

Reaction
getting it out should be quick, getting it back in sounds like it will take a while.
(Sawzall, plasma, torch etc!!)

DSRacing

Mini Metal MOD
Reaction
Do the rules for Class 5 allow you to cut through the pan? If so, cut a hole in the pan and drop it out the bottom. We had a similar situation with our truck when we bought it from someone else.

diondion1

Reaction
go out and enjoy your work have fun there is no way you will not want to change something down the road due to failure or you just want to try something different adres the problem at that point your car will always be a work in progress i dout if there is anyone out there with out a list of things to due next the car is never done due to new ideas products ect this is what makes this such a great hobby so go out beat the hell out of it and enjoy youself i have as much pleasure in fixing problems on the car as i due driving it this is the real challenge so dont worry now you will be pulling it apart soon enough

DesertGuy1

Reaction