• Forum membership has its advantages....

fuel injection

drtdevil93

anyone have a recommendation on a programmable fuel injection setup for my toyota? im leaning towards the sds system, but ive also heard a lot about motec. thanks in advance.

erik

TimHayosh

The SDS will do everything you ever wanted. The motec is mucho expen$ive, and the difference would be hard to tell in 99.9999% of applications.

Electro Motive is a good one, I was looking into a company in Austrailia that makes a complete system for $1200.00 it included a key pad with it so you dont need a lap top ( it wasnt HALTECH) it begain with an "M" mechtech?? ill try to find name. Motech is way too much $$$

geoff

I have had extensive experience with a number of injection systems, both setting up tuning and installing. My take is as follows:

Electromotive: I hate it. If you are going with a TEC-II setup, youre nuts. I really dont know much about the toyota fuel injection system as it is, but the most annoying aspect of the TEC-II is this stupid crank trigger that you need to fabricate. We usually machine rings with a magnet on one location of the ring, then weld the ring to the crankpulley, turn the pulley down on a lath and then mount the sensor. Its quite a pain in the ass. Secondly, the tuning resolution on TEC II sucks, as does its software interface. It uses an antiquated DOS program and is not at all user friendly. TEC II has a great reputation becuase it is well known and when many people think standalone they think TEC II or Motec from hearsey, but IMO stay away.

MOTEC: Nothing better, bar none. But ouch, bend over its gonna hurt!!!!!!!!

Autronic: Made by some motec former employees. Killer stuff, still about 3k.