On Topic Getting into racing

dreysonk

I was wondering if I could have some advice on how to get into racing. I've always loved off road racing and wanted to be apart of it. I'm a vet and want to build a 1400 truck. any advice on where to send my truck for cage work and possible help with completing the truck. I have an 07 f-150 extended cab. any advice or help is appreciated!

Dave Cole 4454

KING MAKER
Where are you located?

What skillsets do you/your team have?

Is your truck bone stock now?

Might be better off starting with a proven used race truck.

Dave

dreysonk

in las vegas, I have a mechanical background, I've been riding and driving off road on and off for 15 years, the truck is bone stock and I dont have 70k sitting around for a proven used truck so I have to build one

snoreracer

you are in Vegas and want to get started with little money I would go this direction classifieds.race-dezert.com/FOR_SALE:Entry-Level-Race-Car-150332

green787

It's just that there isn't really a viable class left for your truck.... Just like 7s (stock mini trucks) has died off... You could make a nice pre-runner out of it... and there are a lot of after market parts out there for it.... Just don't know what number you would put on it....

dreysonk

the 1400 series seems to still be going strong and I was tossing the idea around of turning it into a "luxury" prerunner for as cheap as I can, I just want to race and I know I'll never be able to get into TT but to go out and race has always been my dream and I want to share that with my son!

johnboy

Buy a used Trophylite, and have an affordable blast.

johnboy

They ride great, get up to about 80 mph, run an engine for a couple years. Used ones come with extra parts and spares. Don't run race gas.

Bro_Gill

Yes. There were plenty of Trophylites at Parker. On the plus side, just about any organization will let you run the Trophylites with the 3000 buggies.

MTPyle