• Forum membership has its advantages....

Getting Started With PreRunners

Big Hoss

I'm quite new to all of this, I know some things but not a whole lot. I'm looking at building a low budget or a beginner prerunner. I was thinking of buying a Ranger and doing mostly bolt on kits or simple things. I wouldn't say that I'm quite mechanically inclined, but a lot of determination. I have seen a couple forums, if anybody knows any threads to get me started instead of relaying information feel free to share the link with me. What I'm looking for is something that looks the part, like Fiberglass Bedsides and Fenders. As well as some function-ability too. So suspension work would need to get done too. It wont be a serious build but one that I can hit some bumps with and have fun with besides. Like I said I haven't bought a Ranger yet but very seriously looking into it just to do a build like this. So if it would be easier or better to buy a 2wd instead of 4x4 that would be the route I would pursue. Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks yall.

Turbonick

That's a fantastic question. To be honest it's all preference what chassis you start with. A beamed ranger or a beamed f150 is probably the easiest chassis to begin with. I chose an f150 because I wanted a fullsize.

Regardless of what you choose, you need to decide a realistic budget. Because these can be done cheaply or very expensive. Then you need to decide on suspension work and wheel and tire combination and then dress it with some fenders to finish it off. However othere will have a different process. Also do you want a caged truck? You should consider getting a cage.

Big Hoss