Help me decide where to move. . .

atomicjoe23

Reaction
OK. . .we are thinking about moving and we are looking at 3 different places based on where work is available for one of us (nuclear power plant). . .

the three places are:
-Eastern Washington

-South Texas

-Phoenix, AZ

The three places have comparable weather (at least during the summer for E. WA), all 3 are closer to our families than we are now, and all 3 have desert terrain. . .other than that there are pro's and con's but we're kinda at a toss-up on them. . .

. . .so help me out. . .do any of these 3 places have any high end fab shops that any of you know about???

I'm about ready to finish my Welding and Technical design degrees and I will be wanting to find work in the off-road fabrication field (as a welder I won't be limited very much to any particular field if I can't find a fab shop that's hiring right away so that's not the end of the world just my preference).

Thanks!!!

Zambo

Reaction
I lived in Corpus Christi for almost three years. You will not find much desert type offroading down there, it is all private ranch land. I sold my desert bike shortly after moving there. It is also miserably hot and humid. Out of the three I would pick Phoenix. Housing is incredibly depressed there right now, if you have any money you can buy a place for very little investment.

SandGurl

Reaction
Phoenix also puts you closer to Baja and fabulous racing!!!

djblakely

Reaction
With your last part of your requirements, Phoenix Az. is the only place that will offer the off road fab shop jobs. Sure you might find something in Texas or Washington, but there are several in Phx area. The other factor is drive time to races. Phx again is the best location.

Wild bill

Reaction
South texas....too humid, very little close racing
Washington....very little close racing, weather ok
Pheonix...hot but low humidity, racing everywhere close, fab shops.

Pheonix is my vote.

atomicjoe23

Reaction