Help with vw motor refresher

WannaB-class5

Reaction
My car will be on jack stands for a while so I figured it would be nice to have the motor looked at. That said, what should I have them "look at"? It's a prefessionally built full flow 1914 that has given me zero problems in two years (three races and many fun trips, and some daily driving).

Is there a standard VW list of things a knowledgable mechanic that knows the off-road world would look at? Should I simply have someone tear it down and look for problems? Is there any reason to do this if I don't plan on any upgrades/repairs (valve job, new heads, actual rebuild or new pistons)? I am very new to having someone look at my engine. In the past I simply rebuilt my motors when I blew them up or couldn't diagnose a problem.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Sorry I can't ask a more specific question.

TreyP

"F" you Bill
Reaction
Do a compression test followed by a leak down test. These two simple tests will give you a good idea of the condition of your engine. Google is your friend if you haven't done this kind of test before.

WannaB-class5

Reaction
You are right, google was my friend. Now, anyone in the south bay do this? If all goes well, would putting the car on the dyno help? How much is dyno time? THANKS!

Reaction