• Forum membership has its advantages....

How to not get run over ?

Cross post based on suggestion of BajaBoundmoto -

Hi All -
So noob here looking for insight. I an turning 50 next year thought it would be interesting to ride the 1000, done lots of MX, Desert MC racing, long distance endurance and Rally stuff.

My concern is / are the Trophy Trucks, we will probably ride this as a 2 man team, and are pretty sure we will be caught by the fast trucks. I am pretty sure we will have no issue finishing as long as the bike hold up.

Does anyone have any insight on not getting run over ? Am I worrying about nothing ? Just never raced in a Race with such a diverse set of vehicles and competitors.

Thanks in advance for the insight.

GO

El Mamito USMC

ok. get a light on your back , camelbak or backpack, similar to the one BITD requires. second, there's a 99% they wont run you over at night due to the fact that youll see their lights from really far away and youll get out of the course ,

JUST MAKE SURE you get out and some space just in case there is any rock flying when they pass you and another truck migth be behind them trying to pass.

also train a lot for endurance since you want to do it just2 guys..

get a nice set of lights and a spare set.

when they pass you wait until the dust settles so you can see if any truck is coming and they see you..

thats pretty much it. also many good fans will let you know that the truck is behind you..

Thanks for the help, even just night riding I run a flashing light on my pack.

As for training I totally understand, I am an ex-professional bicycle racer ( think tour de france stuff ) so training is high on my list, we are already training with weights, cardio and of course on the bike. Hopefully by April to by under 15% body fat.

Still deciding on what bike to sun but all the bikes I own have BD squadrons or multiple Squadrons on them now...