I wanna build my own uprights. . .

atomicjoe23

Reaction
I wanna build my own uprights for a 2-seat, 2WD, mid-engine desert buggy. . .built to Class 10 specs

where should I start???

I've heard the '86-95 Toyota uprights are good because they are forged so they can be easily welded to. . .I also heard about older Toyota bolt-on spindles. . .

Anyway. . .I would like to build my own uprights just because I have the welding capabilities and I prefer to build as much as I can as opposed to buying it. . .I have a little bit of experience designing/building off-road suspension systems (as in I designed and build the front and rear suspension for a single seat race buggy that me and 3 of my friends built together this past winter and that's it). . .so I'm familiar with the important terms and what effect different geometry characteristics have on a suspension (to an extent. . .I'm not a pro!!!), and I have read what I can get my hands on, but most of it is for road going vehicles and not all of it is applicable. . .I've already noticed that off-road vehicles run way more KPI than road going vehicles do (12-14*) resulting in more scrub radius. . .something that should be kept to a minimum on road race cars. . .

. . .anyway if I wanna do this what should I shoot for for numbers??? I know that I will probably be running 35"-37" tires and the wheels will be 15-16" and I'm gonna shoot for somewhere around 20" of travel in the front (more is better. . .to an extent) and I would say an overall weight of no more than 4000 lbs.

Suggest a spindle to start with and I think I can figure the rest out from there. . .if you wanna suggest caster, camber angles at ride height that's cool (explain why you are suggesting your numbers vs. other numbers please though) and if you wanna explain why such a large KPI I woul appreciate that as well. . .