• Forum membership has its advantages....

I want to learn

sirhk100

I want to learn to Tig weld. I think I have the basics of Mig welding down from the little bit that I learned from a college professor back in school and the years of using my little 110 mig welder with crappy fluxcore wire that I self taught myself on. I would love to take a class but all the coarses are offered on weekday evenings which I can't make it to. Does anyone know of anyplace that offers classes in Tig welding on weekends down in San Diego. Or, would anyone be willing to take the time and teach me the basics. I would be more then willing to dedicate a couple Saturdays or Sundays to learning and getting a little experience.

JCAndrews,
If you read this, I see your up in Ramona, I live up there also. Did you build your truck yourself? I read another thread that you would like to get some support. What are you looking for? I'm looking to gain experience working on and around the fabrication equipment. I'd love to get together sometime and talk with you to see what you're looking for. I'd be more then willing to volunteer my time and effort if it will give me the opportunity to walk away with some skills that I'm looking to develope.

Khris

'99YZ400,
'92 Ford Exploder lifted work in progress,
lifted golf cart

mike_hinson

Check with some of the local welding supply shops. They may be able to point you in the right direction.
Mike

sirhk100

Oh DUH!! I didn't even think of that, thanks for the advice.

'99YZ400,
lifted golf cart

mike_hinson

The local welding supply shops are always having trade shows with major manufactures there. Good way to get info and get connected. You might luck out and find one in your area. Just talking to a Miller/Hobart, ESAB, Lincoln field rep can get you started. They are always extremely helpful.

DougM

Ramona HS has the BEST ROP welding classes in SD. Check out this site.