• Forum membership has its advantages....

Indefab March 16,17 2013 Prairie City Race Review (Our first race ever)

indefab

For immediate release...or something...lol

I just wanted to post up my experience this last weekend as a newb racer and hopefully it will spark some motivation or inspirations for someone out there. I have been working up to this for over 8 years, started a business to justify my R&D, and have countless hours in building the truck by hand, one piece at a time.

A little background about indefab racing. Independent Fabrication was founded in 2004 on the basis of building lowbuck offroad race programs sustainable with an "average joe's" budget. The El Camino is our company's demonstration of that potential. Knowing this vehicle would begin life as a VORRA racer The Truck is designed to run in rough desert terrain as well as on a tight shortcourse track such as Prairie City. People ask "why an El Camino" all the time, but for the true answer you must stare down the beast and ask it yourself.

Attachments

indefab

The Practice session on Saturday came faster then expected. After 3 weeks of straight 18 hr days capped off by a couple all night work sessions I was a little on the looped out side and time was not really relevant anymore. I missed the first practice session while dealing with some improv window nets and a last minute driveline loop. I made it out there for the second practice and quickly realized the brakes were sticking. I adjusted to left foot braking and then reaching under to release the brake, that was pretty distracting but eventually I figured out how to drive around it.