• Forum membership has its advantages....

Intro

X3 Steele

Hey guys, stumbled upon this forum at an opportune time.
My name is Jim (Steele) Cooney (Steele has been an acquired nickname from decades ago). I've been playing in the dirt for 60 years, started out like many with a mini bike at 10. Had my first real dirt bike at 12 (Bultaco 250) and spent every available opportunity riding and racing. My Dad was very generous and supportive. I had 5 paper routes and his deal with me was he would match every dollar I earned towards my racing dreams. Around 13 got several support sponsors, at 15 got picked up by Husqvarna. Man those were the days. Unfortunately short lived, that last fateful race I got clipped mid air and landed one by ??? other bikes. Shattered my left knee cap, ligaments, ect. 9 months in a cast, 6+ months of physical therapy and I'm back at the track. I lost some mobility but bottomline I lost my edge, before the accident I had no idea what pain nor hesitation was all about.
So long story short, I spent my career operating heavy equipment, still playing in the dirt and enjoying the outdoors. I've been a business owner since 2001 and I'm in the process of selling my 1 remaining business so I can retire (Dad told me to make sure I retired before I died).
I went to KOH last year ('18) and was bit. Bought an '18 X3 Xrc Turbo R about 6 months ago. My face still hurts from the ear to ear grin. Most fun I've ever had with my clothes on, and suspension has come a long way since the mid '70's.
Anybody can take a bike or car to 90%, I've still got that DNA that forces me to not only visit but to try to master that last 10%. I haven't rolled it (yet), but have come as close as possible several times. It's just a matter of time and I'm almost looking forward to it. Look, I've never claimed to be sane or a role model (except to my kids. Pulled that off successfully, somehow).